Rainbow crosswalks mark the intersection of Queen and Grafton streets in downtown Charlottetown, an initial painting in 2016 being followed up this year in a pre-Pride freshening up. This is an unalloyed good, and yet I wonder: why couldn't this sort of demonstration of community support have happened two decades ago? It would have been nice.
- At VICE, Mike Miksche writes about how being Lebanese in North America became much more complicated, after 9/11 and with Islamophobia.
- The story of how Cedar's Eatery helped Lebanese food become entrenched on Prince Edward Island is fascinating. VICE reports.
- CBC reports on how The Globe and Mail is going to stop print distribution in the Maritimes.
- Bloomberg notes that rural ideas need high-speed internet, too.
On display in a corner of the Confederation Centre Public Library is this sculpture, layering painted pages from discarded library books onto the scaffolding in the shape of the lighthouse. As described by Kate Sharpley, a Prince Edward Island art educator employed by the Confederation Centre of the Arts, the patterns painted reflect a variety of subjects and themes, from fish at the bottom to corvids on top.
One important thing to remember about Beaconsfield Historic House, since 1979 on the official register of Canada's Historic Places, is that when it was built in the 1870s it was a stellar achievement. The Peakes, a dynasty of shipuilders, had grown wealthy on a Prince Edward Island that had reached the apex of its 19th century prosperity. When the Island came to share in the post-Confederation slump of young Canada, part of the long depression, the Peakes lost everything. In a real sense, the expensively fitted-out Beaconsfield can be compared to the expensive mansions of those pre-Crash businesspeople who lost everything after 2008.
Beaconsfield Historic House, at 2 Kent Street on the western edge of downtown Charlottetown, was built at a time of economic boom as a mansion for a rich shipbuilding family, when the economy went bust the mansion drifted off through successive owners until it became a museum.
Designed and built by W.C. Harris in 1877 for James and Edith Peake, Beaconsfield was one of Charlottetown’s most elegant homes. Featuring the finest in materials and craftsmanship, it was also equipped with all the latest conveniences of the day. The Peakes, unfortunately, were destined to enjoy Beaconsfield for a very short time - a time filled with triumphs and tragedies.
Henry Cundall, the second owner, moved into Beaconsfield in 1883 with his sisters Penelope and Millicent. After his death in 1916, the house was used as a young ladies’ residence, and later, the “Cundall Home” became a residence for student nurses.
Today, Beaconsfield Historic House stands as a beautiful example of Victorian architecture with many original features, and, has a fascinating story to tell. It's open year-round for tours and hosts lectures, concerts and other special events in the Carriage House. Visit our gift shop featuring Island books, magazines, pottery and prints[.]
Looking east from the driveway of Fanningbank on Terry Fox Drive, the Sullivan Building is visible to left in beige, while the Jones Building is visible in red at right. The Shaw Building, the third building of the Provincial Administration Buildings, lies further east, and is hidden by the Sullivan and Jones buildings.
The formal garden of Fanningbank seemed to be somewhat past its peak at the end of July, but it was still carefully manicured, and still enjoyed the benefits of its location between the cool blue of Charlottetown Harbour and the dense green trees of Victoria Park.
Charlottetown's Fanningbank, officially known as Government House and home to the lieutenant-governor of Prince Edward Island, takes it name from the parcel of land it was built on, set aside by the Loyalist administrator Edmund Fanning. A modest mansion built in wood in the Georgian style of the 1830s, Fanningbank for me marks the western end of downtown Charlottetown. To its west lies Victoria Park, the neighbourhood of Brighton, and the North River beyond.
Charlottetown's Sullivan Building is part of the Provincial Administration Building complex located in the extreme west of the downtown between Kent and Fitzroy streets, home to the various offices and bureaus and ministries of the provincial government of Prince Edward Island. The brutalism of the building, and its neighbours, is characteristic of Charlottetown's official architecture in the decades after the Second World War.