Sep. 19th, 2008

rfmcdonald: (Default)

  • Daniel Drezner reports that Sarah Palin seems to know nothing about economics.

  • Edward Lucas writes about how, post-Georgia, the Baltic States should avoid panicking quite so much--they aren't going to be abandoned.

  • Over at Far Outliers, one blogger's reaction to the Finnish president's recent suggestion that the Estonians were hypersensitive to Russia is to talk about the self-Finlandization and unwillingness to challenge Russia that he detected among many Finns in the latter half of the Cold.

  • A Fistful of Euros lets us know that Montenegro's new top-level domain is .me. Expect a .tv- or .to-style influx of funds to coming into that Balkan republic, I suppose.

  • Junk mail, Tim Harford the Underground Economist lets us know, actually may not just be junk but actually can play a major role in political campaigns.

rfmcdonald: (Default)

christiepits1
Originally uploaded by rfmcdpei

This is a picture of a graffiti-style sketching on the retaining wall of a pool in Toronto's park of Christie Pits. Now notable as an excellent sporting venue with numerous playing fields, an ice rink, and a pool, the park is also of note for being the site of Canada's most notable anti-Semitic riot in 1933.
rfmcdonald: (Default)
As is the case with many things recently, I first learned of the news via this post in [livejournal.com profile] toronto. The Toronto Star

The head of the Toronto transit workers' union, Bob Kinnear, says he won't rule out the possibility of a labour disruption or legal action if the TTC goes ahead with a controversial drug and alcohol testing policy.

TTC chief general manager Gary Webster says the proposed policy, believed to be among the most far-reaching in Canada, is essential to protect workers and the public.

It would include random testing of workers and some managers in "safety sensitive" jobs. Positions are likely to include drivers, mechanics and maintenance workers.

Job applicants would be tested, as would employees suspected of using drugs and alcohol on the job or those involved in serious incidents. Workers disciplined for being unfit for work or those returning from drug or alcohol rehabilitation would also be subject to testing. Office staff and others who have no impact on the public would not.

The proposal, released in a report yesterday, still needs approval from city councillors on the transit commission. Specifics would then be developed for further approval.

Kinnear, who heads the Amalgamated Transit Union, says the plan violates the privacy of workers. He has vowed to fight it.

"We have a number of options available to us and we will take a look very closely at each (one). We will do what needs to be done to ensure that the TTC doesn't arbitrarily impose this policy on us," he said.


I think I agree with the the sentiment expressed in this comment.

The privacy arguments advanced here unconvincing, inasmuch as TTC workers are frequently charged with safely directeing the passage of multi-ton vehicles through city streets or in underground railroads at high speeds. At least we're past believing, right,that the TTC workers' union gives a whit about the safety and comfort of TTC users only inasmuch as their paychecks require them to, right?
rfmcdonald: (Default)
1. I've just picked up the six disposable cameras' worth of photos I mentioned recently. It is going to take me so long to process them for uploading to Flickr and eventual presentation.

2. The sheer number of these photos, on top of the eighty or so I've yet to post, means that you, readers of A Bit More Detail, will see only the best of the photos on my Flickr account. (Say "Yay!", people.)

2. Having taken more than two hundred pictures, I really think it's time to upgrade my Flickr account to a professional one. What's $25 when you want to arrange photo sets for your dozens and dozens of photos?

4. With 120 pictures picked up today, another 50 or so to develop, and plenty more things to photograph in Toronto and elsewhere and a limited budget, too, I think it's time for me to get a digital camera. Does anyone have recommendations for some inexpensive and usable?
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios